Welcome to Daegu

Mid-February 2020, the Coronavirus (COVID-19) surged in Daegu, the fourth largest city in South Korea with a population of over 2.4 million people. Similar in size to Chicago, Daegu experienced a rise in COVID-19 cases only outmatched by China at the time. Many people were shocked and afraid of what this escalation would mean for Korea and for the world. They wondered just how far the virus could spread and how much damage it could do.

On February 25, I moved to Daegu.

Moving to Korea was a decision made over 6 months ago from the comfort of my apartment in Chicago, long before Coronavirus was a term in my vocabulary. I decided last spring to become an English teacher in Asia and was in the process of applying for a position with EPIK (English Program in Korea). Daegu reminded me of Chicago and it kept me in a big city without being as overwhelming as Seoul. I made a quick decision, but was confident and excited. Even as I neared my departure date and the Coronavirus loomed, I was energized for the move more than anything else.

Arriving in Korea on February 18, I was not prepared for the situation that would soon unfold. I came with little more than masks, hand sanitizer, and a steady assurance in my decision. So, needless to say, this last month has been one of the most unexpected in my life.

My first week was spent completing EPIK’s job orientation. Overall, this was a very typical process including lessons and networking opportunities, but something else accompanied our group of teachers that week – a growing tension. As the orientation went on, we began receiving alerts on our phones from the Korean government about the status of the Coronavirus in Daegu and throughout the country.  

At least once a day, phones would chime loudly with critical alerts letting us know that the virus was spreading further and further. Honestly, it was jarring at first to consistently hear about the spread of COVID-19, but time went on and most people were doing okay despite the atmosphere. In some way or another, moving to Korea was a dream that we were in the process of fulfilling and we weren’t willing to give it up.

On the final day of orientation, all Daegu teachers were put into a room and offered the chance to go home by canceling our contracts. This sparked chaos in some people’s minds. If they were offering us the opportunity to go home, how bad was it really in Daegu? Parents of unnamed teachers had even called their respective embassies in fear of the virus. The room filled with stress little by little.

Amidst this, I called my mom to check in. We chatted but there was never really a discussion of me leaving. It wasn’t on my radar; wasn’t in my plan. Watching the situation in the room unfold, I realized that most of the teachers were calm. Single individuals were displaying stress and panic, but the overall group was okay. Honestly, that’s how these things tend to go. Emotions run high in the moment and adrenaline surges, but at the end of the day everything is fine.

In the end, only 2-3 people out of 101 canceled their contracts with EPIK, and nobody that I knew well. After all of this, we took off in a bus for Daegu.

Goodbye to EPIK Orientation

Fast forward to today, March 13, in Daegu. Schools have been delayed until March 23rd leaving me with an unprecedented three-week vacation with very little to do. Everyone has been encouraged to stay inside as much as possible, so I’ve traveled sparingly and spent my time learning Korean (and bingeing Netflix, naturally). My friends and I have explored Daegu little by little, always with our masks and hand sanitizer at the ready. We eat out and try Korean foods like Tteokbokki, Samgyeopsal, Kimchi Fried Rice, and more. Small businesses are suffering amidst the virus so most establishments greet us with friendly smiles and discounts in appreciation. We visit parks and ride the public transit – getting used to the city without throngs of people surrounding us. Each day more and more people venture out, and it’s beginning to feel a bit more like home.

As for the virus, things are honestly okay. Numbers are high in South Korea because they’ve tested more people than any other country. The death rate is much lower here because most cases detected are mild and not life-threatening. Everyone wears masks and uses hand sanitizer in every shop, but all the markets and grocery stores are still stocked with plenty of water and toilet paper because people aren’t panicking unnecessarily (looking at you, USA).

No, the streets are not full of people, and yes, the environment can be a little depressing at times, but I feel completely safe and sound in my new neighborhood in Daegu. Yesterday, the outside food market opened back up breathing more life into the bleak atmosphere.

EPIK Teachers Eating Samgyeopsal in Daegu

For my friends in America where the panic is starting to rise – don’t let it. This virus is not the “end times.” There is more damage being done by depleting resources from people who need them than by the virus itself. Consider the small businesses in your area and go out to eat (especially at Chinese restaurants) if you are able. Take a breath, wash your hands, work from home once or twice, and do your research.

Thank you to everyone who’s reached out to me over the last couple of weeks. I love talking to and hearing from you. I miss you all and think of you often. If you have any questions about South Korea or just want to chat – reach out!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Daegu

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started